h1

Starving Sin

August 15, 2008

I have been thinking a lot about putting to death that which is earthly in my life. I struggle with things of this world invading my life a lot- to the point that often I let them have too much space and too much control. After reading Colossians 3 I have been really convicted about this and struggling with how you actually put to death something that is so much a part of you. I decided the only possible way to do this is starvation. This may sound silly, and probably is from the part of my brain that thinks about teaching junior highers, but I am in a fairly literal sense attempting to starve the part of me that needs to die. What I mean is, no matter how desperately I want to give in, no matter how strongly I feel I HAVE to do it, I am refusing to let myself have it. And much like physical starving I would imagine, the more I deny myself, the more my self that is not as deeply rooted in Christ as it should be crys out for it and trys to get it. So, I am seeking ways to fill the void. Which is beautiful and good because I have forced myself to a place where all I can do is fill my mind and my longing with things of God or I will give in to the crys of my old self that I am trying to starve. I have found new ways to be with God, taking long walks and reflecting intentionally on something I see. Listening to music as an act of worship. Meditating on a single verse/phrase. Sharing. My hope is that I can starve my old self, that I can truly put it to death. It’s not easy, but it is wonderful.

Leave a comment